How do I become a member of the IHSAA Student Advisory Committee?


Principals and/or Athletic Directors can access the IHSAA Student Advisory Committee nomination form on their IHSAA Portal. Any IHSAA member school can nominate one rising Junior to be a member of the 2018 IHSAA Student Advisory Committee. The application link will be open to Athletic Directors in January 2018. Twenty candidates will be interviewed for the nine available positions. Interviews are conducted at the IHSAA Office in Indianapolis.

Student Advisory Committee 2017-18

Lexi Brown, Oldenburg Academy
Matt Cotner, Highland
Carter Filchak, Bremen
Taylor Hall, Crispus Attucks
Warren McWilliams, Evansville Central
Myra Miller, Indpls. Cathedral
Kylie Shourds, South Spencer
Maci Weeks, Eastern (Greentown)
Korbin Zvokel, Wes-Del

Kye Barrett, Mooresville
Caroline Cherry,Bloomington North
Refik Omer Dogruyol, Fort Wayne Wayne
Carmen Johnson, Monrovia
Makinzi Meurer, North Knox
Caitlyn Reynolds, Springs Valley
CeCe Robinson, Plymouth
Benjamin Vanderwall, North Newton
Andrew Walkowski, South Bend Riley

How long is the term of service?

It is a two year commitment.

What is the Student Advisory Committee make-up?

The IHSAA Student Advisory Committee will be composed of 18 members. Membership from each of the 3 districts will be the following:

  • 9 seniors
  • 9 juniors
  • At least 1 student representing each of the four classes
  • At least 2 student representing each of three districts
  • At least 2 “minority” representatives
  • At least 1 “urban school” representative
  • At least 1 “private school” representative

What are the responsibilities of the position?

Attend four meetings per year
Attend Annual Fall Retreat
Attend an IHSAA State Championship during each season (fall, winter, and spring)
In addition, attend Football and Basketball State Championships
Plan and attend a Fall Area Student Meeting
Plan and attend the annual IHSAA Student Leadership Conference